Mauritius Public Holidays 2016

Most of us will resume work next week. While the first few days still reflects the festive mood, some of us will already start planning the year ahead.

Talking about plans one major hiccup in the IT world is the planning of leaves. Business continuity usually makes "holiday plans" like an important mission. Colleagues will consult each other before sending their requests higher up the hierarchy. Elements that trouble the planning are the dates of festivals and public holidays. I recall having once sent my request for leave and the human resources department promptly replied, "you have a public holiday in your list".

Mauritius Public Holidays 2016

New Year Friday 1st January
New Year Saturday 2nd January
Thaipoosam Cavadee Sunday 24th January
Abolition of slavery Monday 1st February
Chinese Spring Festival Monday 8th February
Maha Shivaratree Monday 7th March
National Day Saturday 12th March
Ugaadi Friday 8th April
Labour Day Sunday 1st May
Eid-Ul-Fitr Wednesday 6th July
Depends on the visibility of the moon
Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Monday 15th August
Ganesh Chaturthi Tuesday 6th September
Divali Sunday 30th October
Arrival of Indentured Labourers Wednesday 2nd November
Christmas Sunday 25th December


Seekers of long weekends should note that this year we have four public holidays that fall on a Monday and two (including New Year) that fall on a Friday. Plan your leaves wisely (^^,) ...

Holidays on Monday 1st and Monday 8th February makes that month of 29 days interesting.

Thaipoosam Cavadee public holiday controversy

It was earlier announced that Thursday 14th April will be public holiday, for the celebration of Varusha Pirappu, and also there will be no public holiday for Thaipoosam Cavadee. Such was proposed in the Public Holidays (Amendment) Bill on 11 September 2015. It however led to a controversy. Some calenders of 2016, published prior to 17th November 2015 will therefore list Varusha Pirappu among public holidays and exclude Thaipoosam Cavadee. Even the Government Information Service (gis.govmu.org) still lists Varusha Pirappu in the document "Public Hols 2016 Final.pdf".


Share this post